Small Business Emergency Assistance Grant Program
Funded by The CARES ACT, the Fort Bend County Small Business Emergency Assistance Grant Program is a collective effort to provide grants up to $25,000 to as many small businesses as possible. These supplemental funds are designed to help the most vulnerable businesses continue to meet their financial and operating needs as they get through this pandemic. These funds cannot cover all expenses but are intended to bridge the most immediate financial needs.
Grant Funds are available to Small Businesses based upon its 2019 annual gross revenue:
- Small Businesses with annual sales from $25,000 to $100,000 – Grant up to $5,000.
- Small Businesses with annual sales from $100,001 to $2,000,000 – Grant up to $15,000.
- Small Businesses with annual sales from $2,000,001 to $5,000,000 – Grant up to $25,000.
To qualify the business must have a minimum of one (1) Full-time Equivalent (FTE) employee and a maximum of 50 FTEs.
Click Here to Apply! The Small Business Emergency Assistance Grant Program is back on June 25, 2020 at 8:30 AM.
Fort Bend County Small Business Emergency Assistance Grant Program Form Spanish [PDF]
Fort Bend County Small Business Emergency Assistance Grant Program FAQs Spanish [PDF]
Fort Bend County Small Business Emergency Assistance Grant Program FAQs English [PDF]
1. Grants are available to businesses for the following eligible CARES ACT activities:
- Personal Protective Equipment (PPE)
- Re-opening supplies, equipment & renovations
- Remote working expenses
- Payroll to bring employees back to work
- Mortgage assistance
2. Eligible businesses include:
- Annual business revenue does not exceed $5,000,000.
- For-profit businesses only.
- The business must have been substantially impacted by COVID-19 and operational as of February 15, 2020 and has not permanently closed.
- The business and all principals must be in good standing at the time of application with the State of Texas and their respective city (real and personal taxes, outstanding payments, potential judgements, fines, or other amounts due to the city.) Verifiable though the County and State of Texas Comptroller’s office. Franchise Account Tax Status can be obtained through the Texas Comptroller's office. Use the following link to obtain the form needed for your grant application. https://comptroller.texas.gov/ Under Business Center Look Up/Franchise Account Status.
3. This is a one-time grant up to $25,000, based upon size of business.
4. Grants are made on a first come-first served until all funds are exhausted.
5. Applications will be reviewed for completeness and compliance with the grant eligibility standards and process in the order they were received.
6. Qualifications to apply:
- Business is located and operated in Fort Bend County.
- The business employs 1-50 full-time equivalent employees. For businesses with multiple locations, the employee count will be calculated by location.
- Has at least $25,000 in revenue and not to exceed $5,000,000. Revenue is based on 2019 income or if not in business for the full 12 months in 2019, Use an average of income for the last three months preceding the Stay at Home Order on April 3, 2020.
7. Expenses incurred as of April 3, 2020 (Stay at Home Order) are eligible as long as they meet the eligibility in #1 and have not been reimbursed through anyother loan or grant program.
8. Documentation necessary to apply:
- Executed and notarized complete application including true and correct statement.
- The application will include:
- ○ Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)
- ○ Document monthly revenue for March, April & May 2019 vs 2020 or if have not been in business all of 2019, monthly revenue for January, February & March 2020 compared to March, April & May 2020.
- ○ Gross Revenues for 2019 **
- ○ Expenses for 2019 **
- ○ A brief description of how the grant would be used and how COVID-19 has impacted operations.
- ○ Recipients must certify that the funds will be used for approved purposes and that they are not receiving assistance for these items from another source.
- Authorization for a FICO report
- Copy of Driver’s License or state issued ID card.
9. There is an expectation is that the business would remain operational in Fort Bend County for at least one year, or at a minimum through December 30, 2020.
10. Receipts and documentation for all eligible expenditures must be submitted for audit purposes within three (3) months of grant award disbursement. Funds dispersed that are not supported with eligible and documented expenses will be required to be repaid within thirty days (30) of notice of ineligibility.
** Alternatively, if not in business all of 2019, provide the period of time prior to the April 3, 2020 Stay at Home Order.
This program was created with input from the Central Fort Bend Chamber, the Fort Bend Chamber, the Katy-Fulshear Chamber, the Katy Area Chamber, and the Needville Chamber.